The Wonder of Change!

Those who understand the reality of original sin shouldn’t be surprised (although some might be). Friends, family, and neighbors who have never known the power of God’s Word will not only be amazed, but usually baffled. How can anyone change so drastically, unless the change is simply a temporary emotional experience? When it lasts and becomes more and more life changing, people become interested in finding an explanation. When values, desires, interests, attitudes and behavior change for the better, our lives become an advertisement for the transforming power of the Gospel. Some are won to Christ and experience this change; others react negatively. This negative reaction is usually because of guilt for their own lives and choices. Eventually, some of these come to receive Jesus as Savior and Lord of their lives. There is no human explanation for a truly transformed life! Ezekiel 36:26 explains: “A new heart also will I give you, and a new spirit will I put within you: and I will take away the stony heart out of your flesh, and I will give you an heart of flesh.” Romans 12:2 explains how this works in our lives: “And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.” This renewing of the mind comes as a result of constant exposure to the Bible as we learn, apply and obey it. The desire to do this is found in our new hearts. Stanton W. Gavitt gave us the Gospel song: “Things Are Diff’rent Now.” It expresses this change musically: “Things are diff’rent now, something happened to me when I gave my heart to Jesus. Things I loved before have passed away; things I love far more have come to stay. Things are diff’rent now; I was changed it must be, when I gave my heart to Him.” Selah! Reformation, self improvement, positive thinking, etc. can effect surface changes in our lives; only salvation changes our hearts and brings continuing transformation from the inside, out!   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

One thought on “The Wonder of Change!

Leave a Reply

