Living as Good Samaritans-A.W. Tozer Devotional

Guest Article By A. W. Tozer 

Living as Good Samaritans

Fri, April 22, 2016

The testimony of the true follower of Christ might well be something like this: The world’s pleasures and the world’s treasures henceforth have no appeal for me. I reckon myself crucified to the world and the world crucified to me. But the multitudes that were so dear to Christ shall not be less dear to me. If I cannot prevent their moral suicide, I shall at least baptize them with my human tears. I want no blessing that I cannot share. I seek no spirituality that I must win at the cost of forgetting that men and women are lost and without hope. If in spite of all I can do they will sin against light and bring upon themselves the displeasure of a holy God, then I must not let them go their sad way unwept. I scorn a happiness that I must purchase with ignorance. I reject a heaven that I must enter by shutting my eyes to the sufferings of my fellow men. I choose a broken heart rather than any happiness that ignores the tragedy of human life and human death. Though I, through the grace of God in Christ, no longer lie under Adam’s sin, I would still feel a bond of compassion for all of Adam’s tragic race, and I am determined that I shall go down to the grave or up into God’s heaven mourning for the lost and the perishing. And thus and thus will I do as God enables me. Amen

Consider: “I would be friend of all–the foe, the friendless; I would be giving, and forget the gift; I would be humble, for I know my weakness; I would look up, and laugh, and love, and lift; I would look up, and laugh, and love, and lift. I would be learning day by day the lessons my heav’nly Father gives me in His Word; I would be quick to hear His lightest whisper, and prompt and glad to do the things I’ve heard; and prompt and glad to do the things I’ve heard.” (From “I Would Be True”-By Howard A. Walter).

Selah! “A certain man went down from Jerusalem to Jericho, and fell among thieves, which stripped him of his raiment, and wounded him, and departed, leaving him half dead………a certain Samaritan, as he journeyed, came where he was: and when he saw him, he had compassion on him, and went to him, and bound up his wounds, pouring in oil and wine, and set him on his own beast, and brought him to an inn, and took care of him, and on the morrow when he departed, he took out two pence, and gave them to the host, and said unto him, Take care of him; and whatsoever thou spendest more, when I come again, I will repay thee.” (From Luke 10:30-35).         Ron
Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com
One thought on “Living as Good Samaritans-A.W. Tozer Devotional

  1. A great analogy between Jesus and the Samaritan can be seen here. Not only does He redeems those who need His love and mercy (that would be all of us…), but he commissions us to look after his redeemed and others who need His redemption here on earth.

Leave a Reply

