Emotions and Motivation

Emotions are powerful motivators. Often, they motivate us to give in to things that are contrary to God’s Word. This is why it’s essential to analyze our emotions to see if they would move us to violate Scriptural commands or principles. However, emotions can also keep us from danger or difficulties. For example: fear. Fear could cause us to worry and not trust God. On the other hand, fear could cause us to avoid getting too close to a hot stove. If we are born again, fear of rejection or embarrassment might keep us from speaking to someone about their need of Christ. It could go the other way; fear of someone being lost forever might move us to witness, even if we are uncomfortable doing it. So, we need to examine our hearts. This “feeling” that’s tugging at me, trying to move me, is it on solid Biblical footing or is it trying to move me to gratify my old nature and give in to a sin or sins? Thinking back on yesterday’s example of purchasing a car, do I want the car to impress people? Do I want to do that even if I take on debt? (See Romans 13:8). Suppose I can buy the car without debt, do I want the car to take pride in, or to use it for God’s glory? Proper motivation is found in I Corinthians 6:20: “For ye are bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body, and in your spirit, which are God’s.” Motivated by this principle blesses us with holy emotions. Let us be moved in the way that Thomas O. Chisholm wrote about in the hymn, “Living for Jesus.” He wrote:Living for Jesus a life that is true, striving to please Him in all that I do, yielding allegiance glad hearted and free — this is the pathway of blessing for me. Living for Jesus, Who died in my place, bearing on Calvary my sin and disgrace: such love constrains me to answer His call, follow His leading, and give Him my allO Jesus, Lord and Savior, I give myself to You, for You in your atonement did give Yourself for me. I own no other master, my heart shall be Your throne: my life I give, henceforth to live, O Christ, for You alone.” Selah! Emotions that result from following God’s will are deeply satisfying; fleshly emotions cause us to be deceived and damaged.  Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

Leave a Reply

