The Right Starting Point

Before a person is born again, he or she relates to life mostly from an emotional stimulant. “I like it!” “I want it!” “I need It!” “I have to have it!” “It will be fun; enjoyable.” “It will give me pleasure!” “People will be impressed!” The list goes on. For the child of God, this is the wrong starting point. Our only safe and right starting point is to find out God’s will regarding what we should do, be, say or think. If we just go by our emotions, we will come to regret it, sooner or later. Two examples come to mind: 1. I “feel” like I love someone, but he or she is an unbeliever (I think I can win him or her to the Lord). This is a clear violation of God’s command in II Corinthians 6:14: “Be ye not unequally yoked together with unbelievers: for what fellowship hath righteousness with unrighteousness? and what communion hath light with darkness?” If we go by our “feelings,” there will be consequences! If, instead of going by our “feelings,” we obey God, we will be blessed and enjoy real pleasure. 2. “This new car is a real bargain and it’s a beauty.” “It would really impress my friends.” The “bottom line” is that I will have to incur debt. (I know it’s expensive but I can handle it! [This could be a “feeling” not based on reality]). In any event, how can we reconcile this with Romans 13:8: “Owe no man anything?” In the third stanza of “Take Time to be Holy,” by William D. Longstaff, we have this sound admonition:Take time to be holy, let Him be thy guide, and run not before Him, whatever betide. In joy or in sorrow, still follow the Lord, and, looking to Jesus, still trust in His Word.” Selah! Electricity under control can be a blessing; out of control it can electrocute you. Fleshly response to emotions will cost you; obedience will bring wonderful emotions.”  Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

One thought on “The Right Starting Point

Leave a Reply

