Effective Snares-1

I hope to share some examples of the enemy’s snares over the next two to three days. This first one is very effective because we are snared and don’t even know that we are. This snare is so cleverly constructed that we “feel” justified in what caused us to be trapped. In fact, we “feel” so justified that we often settle down in the trap and have no idea that we need to be freed. Satan gets our minds on all kinds of things that seem wrong, or unfair, or too demanding, or difficult, etc. For example, he disguises these things as: “This shouldn’t happen to me, it’s not right!” “I have a right to be upset!” “Why should I have to put up with this?” etc. The real identity of this snare is “complaining!” It’s perhaps the most successful of all snares; it certainly is one of the most effective. We don’t consider it complaining; we “feel” that we have a right to escape all such things. We forget, or don’t believe, that nothing can happen to us unless God causes or allows it and, if He does, He has a valid reason for so doing. So, consider what Paul instructed us to do: “Do all things without murmurings or disputings….” (Philippians 2:14). A rough paraphrase might be something like this: “Quit your bellyaching and arguing!” That Lina Sandell Berg understood this is obvious in her hymn, “Day by Day.” She wrote: “Day by day and with each passing moment, strength I find to meet my trials here; trusting in my Father’s wise bestowment, I’ve no cause for worry or for fear. He Whose heart is kind beyond all measure gives unto each day what He deems best – lovingly, its part of pain and pleasure, mingling toil with peace and rest.” If you gripe and resist God’s will and purposes, what are you saying about Christianity to those who observe you? Trust God completely and He will free you from Satan’s clever snare.   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

3 thoughts on “Effective Snares-1

  1. Another good one, Ron. And what a great hymn. I guess I didn’t realize what an impact those old hymns had on me when I was growing up and in early ministry.

Leave a Reply

