Knowing Our Enemy-His Scheme

One of the most important things to know about warfare is to know our enemy. I suspect that many Christians know very little about our enemy. I’ll go one step further and suggest that many only know in a vague way that we are seriously engaged in a spiritual battle. If we have experienced genuine conversion, our enemy can’t undo that. However, that doesn’t mean that he forgets about us. He actively seeks to damage, defeat and disable us. John 10:10 reveals Satan’s scheme: “The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.” The last half of the verse is what we can experience; the first half of the verse is Satan’s scheme to prevent and hinder our enjoyment of Jesus’ abundance. First, the enemy comes to steal. For example: he wants to steal: our joy, our peace, our trust, our time, our energy, etc. Second, he wants to kill us physically. Finally, he wants to destroy our testimony, our effectiveness, our minds, etc. For example: if he persuades us to give in to some sin, people will discount or reject our testimony and we become ineffective. If he can ruin our minds, it will deter us from understanding and properly applying Scripture. Satan has a strategy. Do you know what that strategy is? Do you know how to keep from falling prey to his strategy? God willing, we’ll examine, over the next two or three days, ways to counter his strategy. In the hymn, “A Closer Walk with Thee,” Haldor Lillenas offers a prayer that we need to pray: “Strong are the foes that conquer I must. Long is the way, but in Thee I trust. In my own strength but weakness I see. Grant me a closer walk with Thee. Oh, for a closer walk with Thee! Near to Thy side I ever would be. Shield me and hide me; constantly guide me into a closer walk with thee.” Selah! If we are not disciplined, we will be disabled!   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

Leave a Reply

