Last Moments

A dead Man was restored to life, after being three days dead! He joined two very discouraged disciples on the road to Emmaus and explained to them that Scripture was all about Himself. God’s Word foretold all that had happened to Jesus. Jesus used the written Word to prepare them for the revealing of the Living Word. That is still God’s Way, today! Jesus stayed with them that evening and while sharing fellowship with Him, they were enabled to grasp that it was really Him. He was alive and present! The Word prepares our hearts and minds to see Christ. Suddenly, He vanished from their sight, not from their presence. In Luke 24:33-53, these two excited disciples went to the eleven at Jerusalem and were informed that Jesus was risen indeed, that Simon had seen Him. The two told the others their experience. While they were discussing these things, Jesus stood in their midst. He confirmed that it was really Him, not a vision. He fellowshipped with them, reminded them of what Scripture had said about Him and then opened up their understanding of those Scriptures. He then commissioned them to preach, instructed them to await His enabling for the mission and then led them out as far as Bethany, blessed them and they saw Him taken up out of their sight! They worshipped, rejoiced, were constantly in the temple, praising and blessing God. This is still our mission today! Preach, teach, worship, rejoice, fellowship, praise and bless God; profound simplicity! In the hymn: “Lord Speak to Me,” may Frances Ridley Havergal’s heart cry be ours: “Lord, speak to me that I may speak  in living echoes of your tone.  As you have sought, so let me seek  your erring children, lost and lone. O lead me, Lord, that I may lead  the wandering and the wavering feet. O feed me, Lord, that I may feed  your hungering ones with manna sweet. O teach me, Lord, that I may teach the precious truths which you impart. And wing my words that they may reach  the hidden depths of many a heart. O fill me with your fullness, Lord, until my very heart o’erflow  in kindling thought and glowing word,  your love to tell, your praise to show. O use me, Lord, use even me,  just as you will, and when, and where until your blessed face I see, your rest, your joy, your glory share.” Selah! “….Christ died for our sins according to the Scriptures; ….He was buried,….He rose again the third day according to the Scriptures….Therefore….so we preach, and so ye believed.” (From I Corinthians 15:3-11).      Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

Leave a Reply

