Multiple Personalities

I’m not talking about someone who has a mind disorder or an “occult” issue. I am not talking about someone who has great charm or charisma. I’m not thinking of a star or some other celebrity. I have in mind that makeup of personhood (character, mind, spirit, interests, abilities, knowledge, wisdom) that makes each of us uniquely “us.” Let me ask: Have you ever stopped to think that God gave everyone of us (from Adam on) our own distinct personality? While there is much in common that all humans share, there are personal differences in each one of us. When God planned our makeup, do you think that He was just seeing how many different combinations that He could come up with? Not at all! Each of us was put together for specific reasons and purposes. Psalm 37:23 informs us that: “The steps of a good man are ordered by the LORD.” The only “good” people in the Biblical sense of “good” are those who are born again and have been credited with the righteousness of Christ. These, having been so credited, are subsequently being made good (a lifetime process that the Scriptures call sanctification). It is a tragedy of monumental proportions that the majority of mankind never yield to God and let Him rule and direct their lives! For all who do receive Jesus as Lord and Savior, God works on, in, with and through them, accomplishing His purposes, blessing them and others. In Proverbs 3:6 we find a promise to all who are His: “In all thy ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct thy paths.” In the hymn: “Teach Me thy Way, O Lord,” B. Mansell Ramsey gives all who know Jesus a prayer we would do well to make our prayer: “Teach me Thy Way, O Lord, teach me Thy Way! Thy guiding grace afford — teach me Thy Way! Help me to walk aright, more by faith, less by sight; lead me with heav’nly light — teach me Thy Way! When doubts and fears arise, teach me Thy way! When storms o’er-spread the skies, teach me Thy Way! Shine thru the cloud and rain, thru sorrow, toil and pain; make Thou my pathway plain –Teach me Thy Way!” Selah! No life is as exciting and worthwhile as a life in which God is at work changing us and using us for His glory!   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com       

One thought on “Multiple Personalities

Leave a Reply

