The Laws of Concentration and Fascination

Guest Article by A. W. Tozer

“Then there is the law of concentration. The secret of every successful person is concentration. Take a musician, for example. Most musicians are mediocre because they do not have time to concentrate. They might have greater ability than they are ever able to bring out because other things take their time. But an excellent musician must study and practice five and six hours a day. They must give themselves to it completely and concentrate. . . . musicians, athletes and scientists may do other things, but they have just one thing to which they are totally committed. Next, there is the law of fascination. This is a little harder to understand, but it is just as real. To be fascinated, according to the dictionary, is to be held spellbound by some irresistable charm. If something does not fascinate us, we can take it or leave it. It is like the various art exhibitions. I can take them or leave them. Some people think a lot of the exhibitions, and I will go if somebody invites me; but I am not fascinated by them. I am not drawn to them by a charm that I cannot break. But in the kingdom of God there is the law of fascination, the law of irresistable charm. Christians who do not know the law will never be anything but half-Christians all their lives. They will always be in the rut. The law of fascination as seen in the world is often a personal tragedy. Being fascinated by something evil, base or unworthy can be a terrible tragedy…. our Lord turns it around and says, “Come to Me, all you who are weary and burdened . . . Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls” (Matthew 11:28-29). In effect He says, “Come to Me and be fascinated by Me. Concentrate upon Me, surrender to Me and yield so completely to Me that you can give all to Me.” 

 We would be hard put to find a hymn more suitable to this theme than “All for Jesus,” by Mary D.James. It combines concentration and fascination. Consider: “All for Jesus, all for Jesus! All my being’s ransomed pow’rs: all my tho’ts and words and doings, all my days and all my hours. Since my eyes were fixed on Jesus, I’ve lost sight of all beside, so enchained my spirit’s vision, gazing on the Crucified. Selah! Only those who have owned their sinfulness, thrown themselves on His grace and mercy, and embraced Jesus as Savior and Lord, and have spent much time in His Word could enjoy such concentration and fascination. Give yourself to be one who will concentrate and fix your gaze on Him constantly!   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

