Passing the Test

I remember in High School how I dreaded tests. What if I didn’t pass? Why do we have to have all these tests? I suppose that in some vague way, I knew they were important. Nevertheless, I look back now and see that they were very important. I didn’t want to go through them; now I’m glad I did. It’s that way with God’s tests, only far more significant! We are confronted with our need of salvation. We make a decision to believe or not believe. Let’s say that we believe. Was it true faith? Weak faith? Conditional faith? Did I really trust Christ with the control of my life? I agreed with the facts related to salvation. What if I find that I don’t like the implications of His control of my life? Would I take it back? What if He allows or even causes me to experience pain, disease, sorrow, loneliness, bereavement, etc.? If our faith is weak, has He let us down; failed us? If it is conditional and He doesn’t do what I wanted Him to do or thought He would do, do I turn my back on Him? God’s tests are blessings in disguise! They reveal to us the truth about our faith. We believe, if we are blessed. If not, we stop trusting? If we have truly trusted, we will come to have unshakable faith. Nothing will stop us from trusting! Like Job said in Job 13:15, “Though He slay me, yet will I trust in Him.” The only way we can find out how strong our faith is, is by its being tested! We probably won’t like the test. It may be a very hard test. We may feel that we don’t need to be tested. If we “flunk,” we can give up or we can look to God for another opportunity to pass. Our will is much involved here. We can will to give up, but if we have real faith, we will trust no matter how severe the test(s). If we reach that point, we can know the joy of having uncompromising faith. In the hymn, “How Firm a Foundation,” (“K” – in Rippon’s Selection of Hymns), the fourth stanza explains the purpose of our tests: “When thru fiery trials thy pathway shall lie, My grace, all sufficient, shall be thy supply; the flame shall not hurt thee — I only design thy dross to consume and thy gold to refine.” Will we pass? Only, if our trust is unconditional! Selah! Trusting in faith is not wise; we must trust in the trustworthiness of the “Trustworthy One,” and never stop trusting Him!  Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

Leave a Reply

