Conflicting Laws

When two laws fight against each other, we have a problem! One must be kept and can’t be; the other one we don’t want to keep but do. Paul described this conflict, showed us the answer and then he showed us how to handle the conflict. Look at Romans 7:19-8:4: “For the good that I would (do) I do not: but the evil which I would  not (do), that I do. Now if I do that I would not, it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me. I find then a law, that, when I would do good, evil is present with me.” Verses 22-23 describe the conflict. This culminates in a cry of frustration but is followed by a revealing of Someone Who can resolve the conflict. “O wretched man that I am! Who shall deliver me from the body of this death? I thank God through Jesus Christ our Lord.” Paul concludes Verse 25 with a summary of the problem. Then, as we move into the first four verses of chapter eight, Paul shows how Jesus can resolve the conflict. He begins by reminding us (this all relates to those who are born again) that there is no condemnation for all who are in Christ Jesus. In Verse 2, He explains: “For the law of the Spirit of life in Christ Jesus hath made me (us) free from the law of sin and death.” Jesus, having paid the penalty of God’s perfect, but broken, law, shows us how we can be freed from the old law of sin and death and how the law of the Spirit of life takes over. The answer is simple, but profound! “….we walk not after the flesh, but after the Spirit.” As we follow the Holy Spirit, He will guide us into God’s Word (See John 16:13). As we read, study, apply and obey God’s Word, and are guided by the principles of Scripture, the old law loses its grip, is weakened, and fades gradually away. As that process is going on, the new law gains more and more control in our lives. This is sanctification! (See John 17:17; Romans 8:29).I can’t give you the exact quote and I don’t know the author, but this chorus shows us our part in the process: “Only to be what He wants me to be every moment of every day, yielded completely to Jesus alone, each step of this pilgrim way. Just to be clay in the Potter’s hands; only to do what His will commands. Only to be what He wants me to be every moment of every day.” This is the heart cry of those who are truly born again! Selah! If one is truly saved, he or she will turn from the old way that they were going and move in this new direction. They may stumble and fall, even start to turn back. However, if they have experienced genuine conversion, they will get righted or in some rare cases, be taken home prematurely.   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

Leave a Reply

