Start a New Page!

We come to the end of each year and we reflect on how the year went. We have good memories and bad. Thinking about the things that we shouldn’t have done and the things we wish we had done, we plan to do better in the new year. Consistent failure to follow through on our resolutions has prompted much humor. However, it’s not really “funny!” Why don’t we do better? (I realize that some people do manage to do better keeping some resolutions. However, they may not be able to keep up the change. Others keep some resolutions and fail in other ones). It takes a power that we don’t have to gain ground in living our lives the way God wants us to live, and in becoming what He wants us to be. One who is born again has that power available, Nevertheless, it must be appropriated! That, of course, is only done by faithful prayer and by studying and applying God’s Word. So, we resolve to do better in these areas and perhaps we do for awhile. However, the initial effort fades, fails or becomes spasmodic. Why? Because we are moved emotionally and when the emotions “cool,” we ease off. What can we do? First, recognize that it must be our wills that are committed to God, as the basis of our Spiritual growth, and not our emotions. Good emotions are the result of a disciplined life, not the cause! Just as a runner in a race must not give in to his or her feelings but continue to run the race with uncompromising determination, so are we to run, in God’s Strength, the race of the Christian’s life. Paul spoke of his determination of purpose in I Corinthians 9:24-27: “Know ye not that they which run in a race run all , but one receiveth the prize? So run that ye may obtain. And every man that striveth for the mastery is temperate (self controlled) in all things. Now they do it to obtain a corruptible crown; but we an incorruptible. I therefore so run, not as uncertainly; so fight I, not as one that beateth the air: But I keep under my body, and bring it into subjection: lest that by any means, when I have preached to others, I myself should be a castaway (disapproved; disqualified).” May we experience that of which Frances Ridley Havergal wrote in her hymn, “Another Year Is Dawning“): “Another year is dawning: dear Father, let it be, in working or in waiting, another year with Thee; another year of progress, another year of praise, another year of proving Thy Presence all the days; another year of mercies, of faithfulness and grace; another year of gladness in the shining of Thy face; another year of leaning upon Thy loving breast; another year of trusting, of quiet happy rest; another year of service, of witness for Thy love; another year of training for holier work above. Another year is dawning: dear Father, let it be, on earth or in Heaven, another year for Thee.” Selah! Empowered by the Holy Spirit, disciplined by the Word, strengthened by prayer and the Word, nourished by a healthy training diet of God’s milk and meat, let us commit our wills to doing His will, regardless of “feelings!” May you have a Spiritually rich New Year     Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

2 thoughts on “Start a New Page!

  1. A Great New Years message – right on. I have posted this one as well. Thanks for your labor of love – and may you have a Blessed New Year in the Lord.

  2. I thought you might like to read this comment on you post today. “Kay Smith Lord Be with me everyday. Guide me and let you lead me where you want me to be. Especially, Spiritually, I need to get closer to you. I praise you for letting me wake up to begin new. I praise you Lord for leading Pastor Waite for the blogs. I believe they help me get closer to you God.

Leave a Reply

