What Next?

What comes next in your walk with God? If you are born again, are you just plodding along? Are you like a passive observer of your Christian life? Are you just letting your walk with God unfold or are you actively involved? Scripture often likens our Spiritual growth to a walk. A walk implies an action on our part. God takes us off of the old direction of our lives, turns us around and points us in the right direction for our lives. That’s the idea of conversion. We reverse direction. We no longer move away from God but move toward Him. In Isaiah 30:21 we are told: “….This is the way, walk ye in it.” God will provide help, guidance, strength, motivation, challenge, etc. He will not do the walking for us! He will even walk with us, pick us up and clean us up. He will give us a nudge to get going, but we must do the walking. We cannot just stand there and wait! Paul was inspired to inform us how we are to walk. In Philippians 3:13-14, he spelled it out: “….one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before, I press toward the mark.” Do you have your eyes set on the finish line, the goal, the prize? Start with some steps, pick up the pace, start to jog and break into an all out run. Go for it!  Nevertheless, we walk in the Spirit and we walk in the Word. Without the Holy Spirit and the Word of God, we cannot move forward. Take His hand, go by the rules (Scripture) and move out! In the hymn, “Higher Ground, Johnson Oatman, Jr. Has expressed the heartbeat of a true disciple: “I’m pressing on the upward way, new heights I’m gaining every day — still praying as I’m onward bound, “Lord, plant my feet on higher ground.” My heart has no desire to stay where doubts arise and fears dismay; tho some may dwell where these abound, my prayer, my aim is higher ground. I want to live above the world, tho Satan’s darts at me are hurled; for faith has caught the joyful sound, the song of saints on higher ground. I want to scale the utmost height and catch a gleam of glory bright; but still I’ll pray till heav’n I’ve found, “Lord, plant my feet on higher ground.” Selah! This walk requires discipline. Discipline is the mark of a disciple. Being trained in and governed by the Word of God develops discipline. Discipline is not optional and there are no shortcuts.   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

Leave a Reply

