More Than “Rock-Solid” Faith

Is our faith in God “rock-solid?” I’m addressing those who have received Jesus as Savior and Lord. Or is our faith conditional? “God, as long as you don’t go against what I want or what I expect, I’ll trust You.” Will my faith be discarded when it clashes with my will?” In fact, we need a faith that is more than “rock-solid.” Rocks can be blasted in pieces. We need a faith that nothing can destroy! Let me give an example. Someone whom we dearly love dies. We prayed and prayed that he or she would be healed and/or spared, but they died. Let me add another consideration. What if they died unsaved (as far as we know). (We never know for sure what might have transpired between them and God at the edge of death). This one who died was loved with an intensity that is beyond our ability to express. It is in this kind of situation that our faith is given the acid test. Perhaps I am informed that I only have days or months to live. Am I going to abandon my professed faith? Consider Job’s response to his crushing experiences: “Though He slay me, yet will I trust in Him.” (From Job 13:15). Real faith cannot be abandoned. It may be shaken but will not give way. If my loved one(s), my will, my deepest desires, my expectations, my plans, my ambitions, etc. lead me to give up my faith, they are idols! Well did William Cowper put it: “The dearest idol I have known, whate’er that idol be, help me to tear it from Thy throne and worship only Thee.” (From “O for a Closer Walk with God“). Selah! This kind of faith (more than rock-solid) comes from learning about, listening to and obeying Jesus. It is coming to really know Him and trust His love, His knowledge, His wisdom, His grace, etc. We can only do this by constant exposure to Him in the Word of God and prayer. We may not understand until Heaven but all that He causes or allows is “right!” Trust Him, no matter what! He’ll not fail you! He’s absolutely trustworthy!    Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

One thought on “More Than “Rock-Solid” Faith

Leave a Reply

