Whose Family?

I hope you have been blessed with a good family. I’m thankful for mine. Some have been born into a wealthy family. Some have old, well established and “well thought of ” families. A good family is something that gives wonderful satisfaction. Some have been born into a very dysfunctional family. That is heart-breaking! However, no matter what your family situation is, you are or can be, part of the most wonderful family of all. This is a huge family! Part of the family is found all over the earth. Some are from different races, cultures, nations, tribes, etc. It doesn’t stop there. While many of these family members are away from home and are on their way home, countless members have already arrived at home. Eventually, we’ll all be home and will be together forevermore. You’ve probably understood that I’m talking about the family of God. That is Whose family I’m discussing.  Paul wrote about this family in Ephesians 3:14-15: “For this cause I bow my knees unto the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, of Whom the whole family in Heaven and in Earth is named….” We, who have been Spiritually reborn, are the children of the King! Even more than that, we are children of the King over all kings. Our Family Name is the greatest of all family names! Let’s be diligent to avoid ever bringing discredit to that name. Scripture tells us that “we are heirs of God and joint-heirs with Christ.” (From Romans 8:17). If you know Jesus as Savior and Lord, you will always be a part of God’s family. You’ll never be orphaned, thrown out, disinherited, or exiled. Harriet E. Buell was driven from home because of her faith in Jesus. Look at her testimony in her hymn, “A Child of the King:” “My Father is rich in houses and lands, He holdeth the wealth of the world in His hands! Of rubies and diamonds, of silver and gold, His coffers are full, He has riches untold. I once was an outcast stranger on earth, a sinner by choice, and an alien by birth; but I’ve been adopted, my name’s written down, an heir to a mansion, a robe, and a crown. A tent or a cottage, why should I care? They’re building a palace for me over there; though exiled from home, yet still I may sing: all glory to God, I’m a child of the King.” Selah! If you’ve been adopted, thank God! If you haven’t, you can be! See Romans 10:9-10; 13. There’s always room for one more in this wonderful family! Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

Leave a Reply

