Transformed Emotions-4

Our Daily Bread recently told a story of a man who was a chronic worrier. However, a friend visited one day and found him worry free. When asked why he no longer worried, he explained that he hired someone to worry for him. His friend asked, “What do you pay him?” He replied, “$200 a week.” “Can you afford that?” asked his friend. The response: “That’s his worry!” Humorous. However it shows how foolish worry is for all who are genuinely converted. We have Someone Who can carry all our worries and He offers to do it without charge. Worry is assuming responsibility that God never intended for us to have. It’s insulting to God, when we doubt His ability and willingness to care for us. Jesus taught about God’s watch-care and provision in Matthew 6:26-30. In Verses 31-34, He admonishes us: “Therefore take no thought, saying, What shall we eat? or, What shall we drink? or, Wherewithal shall we be clothed? (for after all these things do the Gentiles seek:) for your heavenly Father knoweth that ye have need of all these things. But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and His righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you. Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.” “I Asked the Lord,” a hymn by Johnny Lange and Jimmy Duncan, gives us the source of relief from worry: “I asked the Lord to comfort me when things weren’t going my way, He said to me, “I will comfort you and lift your cares away.” I asked the Lord to walk with me, when darkness was all that I knew, He said to me, “Never be afraid, for I will see you through.” I didn’t ask for riches, He gave me wealth untold, the moon, the stars, the sun, the sky, and gave me eyes to behold. I thank the Lord for everything, and count my blessings each day. He came to me when I needed Him, I only had to pray, and He’ll come to you if you ask Him to, He’s only a prayer away.” Selah! If worry gave relief or offered any cure; if it paid any bill or did our joy restore, then it might be worth it to worry for a while. Since it doesn’t, give your worries to Him and He’ll restore your smile.  Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

Leave a Reply

