A Missionary?

Would it surprise you to know that the title: “Missionary” is nowhere found in Scripture? Now, before you get upset with me, let me point out that there is a likely reason for that. Before I explain, let me hasten to say that there are huge numbers of those people that we call “Missionaries” who have served faithfully in that role, often at great personal cost. They are to be valued highly! We can’t overestimate the importance of their ministry! However, I still suggest that there is a reason that no title of “Missionary” is given. Pastor, Teacher, Evangelist , etc. are given as titles. Why not “Missionary?” Could it be that we have assumed that the work of missions is the responsibility of a special group of people? Have we forgotten that we have a mission? Do we excuse ourselves from our duty to carry out our mission because we are not trained as missionaries? An Evangelist, in New Testament terms, is very much on mission. To those who would say: “I’m not an Evangelist,” Paul would remind us as he did Timothy: “….do the work of an evangelist.” (From II Timothy 4:5). In the same way, we are to be on mission, as well as those who serve with the designation: “Missionary.” All of us are to be on this mission, as Acts 1:8 makes clear: “But ye shall receive power, after that the Holy Ghost is come upon you: and ye shall be witnesses unto Me (That’s our mission)  both in Jerusalem, and in all Judea, and in Samaria, and unto the uttermost part of the earth.” This is the responsibility of the church! No exceptions! The third stanza of “Living for Jesus,” by Thomas O. Chisholm explains our responsibility in simple verse: “Living for Jesus thru earth’s little while, my dearest treasure the light of His smile, seeking the lost ones He died to redeem, bringing the weary to find rest in Him. O Jesus, Lord and Savior, I give myself to Thee, for Thou in Thy atonement didst give Thyself for me. I own no other Master — my heart shall be Thy throne: my life I give, henceforth to live, O Christ, for Thee alone.” SelahWe all can be and are commanded to be witnesses to Him. One way or another, God can and will use us to that end. Be “on mission!”   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

One thought on “A Missionary?

Leave a Reply

