The Inner Witness

“The Inner Witness:” Because this Biblical reality has been used wrongly by cults and other false religions, let’s take a look at what God’s Word says about it. Let me start by saying that “the inner witness” is based on solid Scriptural facts, not on some subjective emotional experience or some mystical practice. When we experience a genuine conversion, embracing Jesus as Savior and Lord, The Holy Spirit gives an inner assurance, a confirmation that we truly gave our hearts to Him. We are committed to His rule and reign in our lives. When we fail, when we “mess up,” when we stumble or make mistakes, we confess, He forgives, He lifts us up and we resume following Him. Getting back “on track” may require some form or level of discipline. This, at times, can be painful: “….no chastening for the present seemeth to be joyous, but grievous: nevertheless afterward it yieldeth the peaceable fruit of righteousness unto them which are exercised thereby.” (From Hebrews 12:11). This “fruit of righteousness” is the result of God’s disciplining of those who are His own. His own claim I John 1:9 and return to following Him. Then: “The Spirit itself (Himself) beareth witness with our spirit, that we are the children of God” (Romans 8:16). I John 2:5 adds: “But whoso keepeth His Word, in him verily is the love of God perfected: hereby know we that we are in Him.” Conversely, those who start and turn away and fail to return have no such assurance. The evidence of a truly saved person is that he or she will continue to walk in the Light. Temporary failures and setbacks will be overcome and the believer will resume his or her walk with God. James G. Small’s hymn, “I’ve Found a Friend,”  puts it well, in the second stanza: “I’ve found a Friend, O such a Friend! He bled, He died to save me and not alone the gift of life but His own self He gave me. Naught that I have my own I call, I hold it for the Giver: my heart, my strength, my life, my all, are His, and His forever.” Selah! All who trust Him as Savior and Lord, based on His sacrifice on Calvary, and whose life direction is away from sin and who walk in the light of His Word need have no doubts. Their life commitment brings “the inner witness.”   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

One thought on “The Inner Witness

Leave a Reply

