Balanced Evaluation

Yesterday we cautioned about counseling that advised that we should love ourselves. How, then, should we view ourselves? On the one hand we were ungodly and enemies, deserving of nothing but His wrath and judgment. But He loved us, died for us and paid our penalty so that we could be pardoned, freed, and have a personal relationship with Jesus as Lord and Savior. It doesn’t get any better than that, nor as good. However, even with this wonderful salvation, some have not accepted themselves. Of course, we start by recognizing our sinfulness. After that, many still are unhappy and frustrated (and/or discouraged) with themselves. They don’t like their height, hair color, sex, weight, parents, race, where they live, or something else about themselves. There are some things we can change (and some that we should not change). God planned for us to accept those things which we can’t or shouldn’t change. He has a purpose and a plan for them. Paul offers a great example in II Corinthians 12:7-9: “….there was given to me a thorn in the flesh, the messenger of Satan to buffet me, lest I should be exalted above measure. for this thing I besought the Lord thrice, that it might depart from me and He said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for My strength is made perfect in (your) weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.” Think of it this way: You are asked what you see in a picture on the wall. You describe what you see. Did you describe the frame? Most likely, you didn’t. The picture is what you really look at, not the frame. The frame should support the picture. People don’t say: “What a lovely frame” and ignore the picture. We are the “frame!” The picture is the beauty and character of Christ! May He be the focus in us as His “frames!” May we be “frames” for what Albert W. T. Orsborn wrote about in his chorus, “Let the Beauty of Jesus Be Seen in Me:” “Let the beauty of Jesus be seen in me — all His wonderful passion and purity! O Thou Spirit divine, all my nature refine, till the beauty of Jesus be seen in me.” Selah! The 139th Psalm gives us wonderful insight on how we are equipped to be made into a “frame” in which He can be displayed!  Ron

 

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com

One thought on “Balanced Evaluation

Leave a Reply

