Separation-Internal and External

Christians often disagree as to the rightness or wrongness of certain matters of conduct and amusements. We will probably never have complete unanimity. However, progress can be made, if we start with the internal rather than deciding for or against a particular thing being right or wrong. It would be easier if certain behavior was very black or very white. Since that is not likely to happen, let’s explore some guidelines: First and foremost, a person must be saved. This is a given. If one is saved, he or she will want to honor the Lord. Does a particular thing honor Him or reflect negatively on Him? Would an unsaved person consider that what we do or allow makes us appear to be hypocritical? Will our behavior cause another Christian to stumble? Will what I do, say or where I go hinder my growth, Spiritually, or will it help me grow, Spiritually? If Jesus were here today, as He was during His incarnation, would He approve or be grieved? Paul, in II Corinthians 6:17, admonished the Corinthian Church: “Wherefore come out from among them, and be ye separate, saith the Lord, and touch not the unclean thing: and I will receive you.” Charles A. Tindley, in his hymn, “Nothing Between,” wrote: “Nothing between my soul and the Savior, naught of this world’s delusive dream: I have renounced all sinful pleasure — Jesus is mine, there’s nothing between. Nothing between, like worldly pleasure: habits of life , tho harmless they seem, must not my heart from Him ever sever  — He is my all, there’s nothing between.” Selah! The “bottom Line” is how close can I live to Him, not how close can I live to the world system and its values!   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

Leave a Reply

