Post-Mortem on Life

What people say at your funeral likely reflects the reality of your life. On the other hand, what people share may sometimes be based on saying something good about the “departed.” A far more accurate assessment is based on the impact your life has had on others. Are others better or worse for having known you? The life of a genuine Christian can make a profound impact in some people’s lives. Elijah obviously had a powerful influence on Elisha. Just before Elijah’s departure, he asked Elisha a question. II Kings 2:9 records this: “And it came to pass , when they were gone over, that Elijah said to Elisha, Ask what I shall do for thee, before I be taken away from thee. And Elisha said, I pray thee, let a double portion of thy spirit be upon me.” Look at the impact Paul had on Timothy, not to mention countless others down through the years. My own pastor, early in my life, made a strong impression on me and on many others. How can we hope to exert this kind of influence? Some things that will make a difference in others include a very loving and personal relationship with Jesus as our Savior and Lord, a holy, clean, pure life, unconditional confidence in God’s will amidst adversity, peace and purpose in daily living, a love for the Word of God, and true concern, often sacrificially, for others. This kind of life will create in other lives, sometimes in many lives, a longing to be like that.. As we spend quality time with Jesus, He will gradually shape our lives to reflect His. “Make Me a Blessing,” by Ira B. Wilson puts it this way: “Tell the sweet story of Christ and His love, tell of His pow’r to forgive: others will trust Him if only you prove true ev’ry moment you live. Give as ’twas given to you in your need, love as the Master loved you; be to the helpless a helper indeed, unto your mission be true.” Then pray: “Make me a blessing, make me a blessing! Out of my life may Jesus shine; make me a blessing, O Savior, I pray, make me a blessing to someone today.” Selah! Constant filling will spill over into other’s lives. Hold your cup under the flow!    Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

One thought on “Post-Mortem on Life

Leave a Reply

