Religion or Reality

One of the most dangerous traps for those who know Jesus as Savior and Lord (or who might be considering coming to Him) is being or becoming “religious.” There are many today who have become, for all practical purposes, religious robots. They have the form but not the substance. Think of a frame without a picture. Imagine a car. It looks like a car, it feels like a car, it has the characteristics of a car but it has no motor. Religion can look like Christianity, can talk like Christians, can behave like Christians and do these things without Jesus. Paul was inspired to say to us in Galatians 2:20, “….I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me.” Only when Jesus is living in us does it become reality and cease to be simply religious. To come back to the car, you see one that you want. You read up on all the facts about this car. You agree with all you read. You pass along all the information about the car and tell those that you give the information to that it’s all true. However, you don’t obtain the car. Ridiculous, you say! Yes, but far less ridiculous than agreeing with everything about Christ and not knowing Him personally, not experiencing Him in reality. We need the facts, the information, and based on the information we open ourselves to receive Him  and to experience the reality of His indwelling Presence. Alfred H. Ackley gave us insight about this reality, in his gospel song, “He Lives,” in these words: “I serve a risen Savior — He’s in the world today. I know that He is living, whatever men may say; I see His hand of mercy, I hear His voice of cheer, and just the time I need Him He’s always near. He lives, He lives, Christ Jesus lives today! He walks with me and talks with me along life’s narrow way. He lives, He lives, salvation to impart! You ask me how I know He lives? He lives within my heart.” Selah! Religion is sterile; Christ is supernaturally personal. He is actively alive in His own!   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

One thought on “Religion or Reality

Leave a Reply

