Suppose It Were Possible!‏

If we are honest, how would we describe our level of concern over lost people? Are we somewhat concerned, fairly concerned when we stop and think about it, quite concerned (remember to be honest), or are we intensely concerned? For most of us, the answer is probably that we are somewhat concerned. We are so busy and distracted that it’s only when something we hear or read reminds us of the horrifying reality of unsaved people’s destiny that we become concerned. At that point we care, at least until we get caught up in our daily activity again. Is there anyone intensely concerned? The Bible tells us of One who was. He bore an excruciating death on a Roman cross to prevent anyone from having to experience eternal Hell! There was someone else in Scripture who cared intensely. In Romans 9:1-3, we have a glimpse into Paul’s great heart of love. He wrote, “I say the truth in Christ, I lie not, my conscience also bearing me witness in the Holy Ghost, that I have great heaviness and continual sorrow in my heart, for I could wish that myself were accursed from Christ for my brethren, my kinsmen according to the flesh….” Suppose it were possible, would we be willing to suffer Hell ourselves, if it meant others being spared? Were there others who had that kind of concern? One comes to mind (and there were others). John Knox prayed, “Give me Scotland or I die!” If we are of those who are intensely concerned, would we not find a way to witness by word and walk? Leon Tucker’s chorus entitled, “Lord, Lay Some Soul upon My Heart,” gives us a prayer that we might well make our prayer, “Lord, lay some soul upon my heart and love that soul through me; and may I always do my part to win that soul for Thee.” Selah! Has a burden for lost people been swallowed up in Laodicean lukewarmness? Will we commit to reversing the trend? Will we?   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

Leave a Reply

