A Spiritual “Pandora’s Box”

From Wikipedia, we have this definition of “Pandora’s Box:” “Today, the phrase ‘to open Pandora’s box’ means to perform an action that may seem small or innocent, but that turns out to have severely detrimental and far-reaching consequences.” One such box, spiritually speaking,” is complaining! This one sin, so easily fallen into and excused, is a nest of sins. First, it criticizes God! “Why didn’t He do what I asked?” “Why did He allow that?” Second, it creates a bitter spirit. This is contagious to others. Third, it shows a lack of trust in God’s love and wisdom. Fourth, it is prideful. “Why doesn’t God do what I know needs to be done?” Fifth, gratitude and complaining cannot long co-exist. Need I add more? Complaining is like a cancer that eats away at our spiritual health. In Hebrews 12:15, we are admonished, “Looking diligently lest any man fail of the grace of God; lest any root of bitterness springing up trouble you, and thereby many be defiled.” Paul charged the Philippian Christians (and you and me) to, “Do all things without murmurings and disputings: that ye may be blameless and harmless, the sons of God, without rebuke, in the midst of a crooked and perverse nation, among whom ye shine as lights in the world” (Philippians 2:14-15). Fanny Crosby, blind from early childhood, could have complained bitterly. Instead, she has blessed the church down through the years with wonderful hymns. One such hymn shows what should fill our hearts and minds, rather than complaining. “All the way, my Savior leads me — cheers each winding path I tread, gives me grace for every trial, feeds me with the Living Bread. Tho my weary steps may falter and my soul athirst may be, gushing from the Rock before me, Lo! a spring of joy I see; gushing from the Rock before me, Lo! a spring of joy I see.” (From “All the Way My Savior Leads Me“). Selah! Complaining is slandering the character of God! Gratitude and unconditional trust in God’s love and wisdom can cure this “cancer!”  Ron

Questions? E-mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

One thought on “A Spiritual “Pandora’s Box”

Leave a Reply

