Revival-Part 2 (Contn’d)

If My People….will pray.” Obviously, this is not the “now I lay me down” variety of prayer. (That’s fine for a child learning to pray). Prayer for revival is, first of all, a prayer that deals with anything in our lives that would block revival. We own up to any sin(s) that we have been harboring and ask forgiveness and let go of these sins. Next, we yield to God. If we have the last word in what we will or won’t do, we can’t expect revival. God’s will trumps ours, if we expect God to move. Once these basic things are settled, we must be in earnest about seeking revival. Prayer by habit, without heart. will probably accomplish little, if anything. James talks about prayer that is effectual because it is fervent. Jeremiah said that one will find God when he searches for Him with the whole heart. Many churches are in need of revival. Are we seeking revival or are we preoccupied with lesser things? God is little apt to impose revival. If we are not serious about revival, why should God move? But, if we are serious, revival may come. it has happened before! Revival can’t be “worked up;” it must be prayed down. In the context of certain requirements in James 4:3-8, we are told, “Draw nigh to God, and He will draw nigh to you.” J. Edwin Orr gave us these prayerful words in the hymn, “Cleanse Me,” “Lord, take my life and make it wholly Thine: fill my poor heart with Thy great love divine. Take all my will, my passion, self and pride; I now surrender, Lord — in me abide.” Selah! Revival seems to be the only hope we have of averting a major judgment from God. What are you and I willing to do to experience revival?   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

One thought on “Revival-Part 2 (Contn’d)

  1. I have been away and not able to concentrate on posting, etc. This one was especially good. “Revival can’t be worked up – it must be prayed down.” stood out to me.

Leave a Reply

