A Pretty Much Forgotten Word

It would be bad for a particular word to vanish from the Christian’s vocabulary; it is worse still for the meaning of it to be left out of a Christian’s life. It’s an old word evidently packed away, out of sight. However, we need to get it back out, brush it off and put it to use. I’m talking about consecration. It has the meaning of completely dedicated, fully committed, given wholly over to. Paul explains it in the familiar Romans 12:1-2 passage as requiring (out of love and gratitude) making ourselves a living sacrifice to Jesus; putting ourselves on the altar to stay. The Apostle brings out a different facet of this same subject in Galatians 6:14 where he wrote, “But God forbid that I should glory, save in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, by Whom the world is crucified unto me, and I unto the world.” in other words, we are dead to the world system; we have written it off and the world has written us off. The more consecrated that we are, the less the world has any hope of drawing us back into its ways, values and thinking. Consider the hymn, “More Like the Master,” by Charles H. Gabriel. In the chorus, he wrote, “Take Thou my heart, I would be Thine alone: take Thou my heart and make it all Thine Own. Purge me from sin, O Lord, I now implore, wash me and keep me Thine forever more.” Selah! This whole world system will vanish completely one day, perhaps soon! We who know Jesus as Savior and Lord are solidly grounded on the Rock, forever! The temporal will give way; the eternal abides forever!   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

One thought on “A Pretty Much Forgotten Word

Leave a Reply

