A Message Rarely Heard

In our day, Biblical messages cover a wide range of subjects. There is one message rarely heard today and it’s one that is urgently needed. Do you have any idea what that message might be? Let me reminisce. When I was in my late teens, altar calls were given for those who were willing to receive Jesus as Savior. Altar calls were also given for those who were willing to turn over their lives to serve God in any way He called them to serve. Missionaries asked people to come forward who would obey the call to missions, if God called them to it. In other words, were we willing to turn our lives and futures over to His will and control? Our pulpits and conferences rarely preach this kind of message today. Could that account for many going off in other directions; perhaps in directions of their own choosing? Have we forgotten this kind of challenge? Is it possible that we assume young people (and older people as well), wouldn’t respond favorably to that kind of challenge? Could this account for a lack of serious commitment among many in our day? Perhaps it’s time to ask if there are any who would willingly surrender everything to whatever God wills? I wonder! A gospel that doesn’t cost anything may not be worth much; the true gospel cost our Savior everything. why should we settle for less? On a personal note, I’ve never regretted giving up my own ideas and yielding to His will. He deserves our “all!”  B.B. McKinney put it well in the hymn, “Wherever He leads I’ll Go.” “Take up thy cross and follow Me,” I heard my Master say; “I gave My life to ransom thee – surrender your all today.” He drew me closer to His side, I sought His will to know; and in that will I now abide – wherever He leads I’ll go.  It may be thru the shadows dim or o’er the stormy sea; I take my cross and follow Him – wherever He leadeth me. My heart, my life, my all I bring to Christ who loves me so; He is my Master, Lord and King – wherever He leads I’ll go.” Selah! Being in the will of God demands personal sacrifice, but offers wonderful joy. “Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith; Who for the joy that was set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the Throne of God” (Hebrews 12:2).       Ron

Questions? E-mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

