Spiritual Mariners

Oceans, lakes, rivers, etc. have occupied a lot of space in the Bible. Poets, novelists, marine scientists, etc. have been fascinated by earth’s waters. Our lives have been likened to sailing a great ocean. Sometimes, smooth waters and other times turbulent waters. Sometimes shipwreck, other times reaching port. An apt picture of life. The Psalmist, in Psalm 107:23-29, uses the sea to illustrate the voyage of Spiritual mariners. He wrote, “They that go down to the sea in ships, that do business in great waters; these see the works of the LORD, and His wonders in the deep. For He commandeth, and raiseth the stormy wind, which lifteth up the waves thereof. They mount up to the heaven, they go down again to the depths: their soul is melted because of trouble. They reel to and fro like a drunken man, and are at their wit’s end. Then they cry unto the LORD in their trouble, and He bringeth them out of their distresses. He maketh the storm a calm, so that the waves thereof are still.” Life with its “ups and downs,” wonderful times, times of sorrow and troubles, and calm and turbulent times. The difference between port and shipwreck is crying unto the Lord; calling upon Him for salvation; receiving Jesus as Savior and Lord. Those who do not cry out will experience eternal shipwreck, eternally lost. Those who turn to God for Spiritual deliverance are brought out of their distresses. Sometimes they are rescued here and now; always in eternity; often times, both! L.E. Jones describes this voyage in his hymn, “I’ve Anchored in Jesus.” He wrote, “Upon life’s boundless ocean where mighty billows roll, I’ve fixed my hope in Jesus, blest Anchor of my soul. When trials fierce assail me, as storms are gath’ring o’er, I rest upon His mercy and trust Him more. He keeps my soul from evil and gives me blessed peace; His voice hath stilled the waters and bid their tumult cease. My Pilot and Deliv’rer, to Him I all confide, for always when I need Him, He’s at my side. He is my Friend and Savior; in Him my anchor’s cast. He drives away my sorrows and shields me from the blast. By faith I’m looking upward beyond life’s troubled sea; there I behold a haven prepared for me.” Selah! He will bring His own to Port! Are you on board His ship?  Ron 

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

Leave a Reply

