Devotions/Not Devoted?

Setting aside a quiet time to pray; to talk with God and reading and studying His Word is considered by many to be devotions. Would it shock you to realize that you could engage in this practice and not necessarily be devoted to Jesus? Devotions can be very meaningful or can be an empty religious activity void of any heart-felt devotion! For too many, it’s simply a responsibility to be discharged, if we are to be seen as being a Christian. Imagine spending a few minutes to an hour or two going through the motions, with no real loving enjoyment of our wonderful Savior! Come right down to it, it might be more valuable if we spent a few moments basking in His Presence and expressing our love for Him than an extended time of empty discharge of duty. Still, if we love Him, we want to spend quality time with Him and we can enjoy it so much that we don’t want to leave that blessed fellowship. Jesus, in John 21:15-17 challenged Peter three times. “So when they had dined, Jesus saith to Simon Peter, Simon, son of Jonas, lovest thou Me more than these? He saith unto him, Yea, Lord; Thou knowest that I love Thee. He saith unto him, Feed my lambs. He saith to him again the second time, Simon, son of Jonas, lovest thou me? He saith unto Him, Yea, lord; Thou knowest that I love Thee. He saith unto him, Feed My sheep. He saith unto him the third time, Simon, son of Jonas, lovest thou Me? Peter was grieved because He said unto him the third time, Lovest thou Me? and he said unto Him, Lord, Thou knowest all things; Thou knowest that I love Thee. Jesus saith unto him, Feed My sheep.” While these questions were to give Peter certain responsibilities, being asked three times if he loved Jesus underscores the importance and joyous privilege of loving Him. “I Love Him,” a song from the English Hymn Book gives us a simple, but profound, understanding. “Gone from my heart the world and all its charm; gone are my sins and all that would alarm; gone evermore, and by His grace I know the precious blood of Jesus cleanses white as snow. I love Him, I love Him, because He first loved me, and purchased my salvation on Calv’ry’s tree.” Selah! Suppose Jesus asked you three times “Do you love me?” Could you honestly say, Lord, You know I do!” If so, you have gone beyond mechanical devotions and are growing in devotion for Jesus.   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

Leave a Reply

