Something God Hasn’t Given Us

God has given and does give a great many things to His children. He even gives a lot to those who are not His children. Today, however, I want to focus on one thing that He does not give to His children. Paul wrote to Timothy and reminded him (and us) of this thing that God does not give. “For God hath not given us the spirit of fear.” (From II Timothy 1:7). There is, of course, legitimate fear. I should fear putting my hand on a hot stove. I should fear (have a healthy and worshipful respect of) God! I should fear the enemy of our souls but only in the sense of being alert and vigilant. What we, who are His, do not receive from our loving Father is a cringing fear, worry generating fears or fear of death. Fears of these types need not discourage, paralyze or undermine our trust. Nothing can touch His children without first passing through His permissive will . If He allows or causes, He has a purpose. The psalmist in Psalm 56:3-4 exclaimed, “What time I am afraid, I will trust in Thee. In God I will praise His Word, in God I have put my trust; I will not fear what flesh can do unto me.” Paul urged the Philippians (and us) to be anxious for nothing. As has been wisely pointed out, “worry is assuming responsibility God never intended us to have.” In the hymn, “Leaning on the Everlasting Arms,” Elisha A. Hoffman asks, “What have I to dread, what have I to fear, leaning on the everlasting arms? I have blessed peace with my Lord so near, leaning on the everlasting arms (he adds, ‘safe and secure from all alarms’).” Selah! There is no safer place on earth then being in His perfect will. (Source unknown).  Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

Leave a Reply

