Reality Check

A wealthy and loving father gives the keys to a brand new, fully equipped car to his son and/or daughter. The response? Oh thanks, Dad. Would the father be thrilled with that response? Not likely!  More likely that he would say, “Is that all you have to say?” We have an infinitely wealthy Heavenly Father, if we are born again. He has given something (actually, Someone) Whose value is infinitely beyond the combined total of all the world’s wealth. He gave Him to die, in order to pay for our sins. How can we be content to be so casual about such a Gift? May I suggest that for too many, we have been content with the knowledge of the Truth without ever coming to grips with the One Who is the Truth. We seem, at least in the western world, to mostly embrace an intellectual faith and much less embrace the object of that faith, Jesus! When was the last time we were really filled with love and gratitude for what He means to us? How would we feel, if someone knew all about us, talked well of us to others, enjoyed thinking about us, appreciated us but never came to involve themselves with us? Do we do this with Jesus? In Psalm 31:23, we read, “O love the LORD, all ye His saints….” The Psalmist is urging us to do this. God, through him, is urging us to do this. Why? Because we can never out love the Lord!” Do a reality check. Ask yourself if you love Him or simply the knowledge about Him. William R. Featherston gave us this worshipful expression of love in these words, “My Jesus, I love Thee, I know Thou art mine. For Thee all the follies of sin I resign; My gracious Redeemer, my Savior art Thou: If ever I loved Thee, my Jesus ’tis now. —— I’ll love thee in life, I will love Thee in death, and praise Thee as long as thou lendest me breath; and say when the death-dew lies cold on my brow, “If ever I loved thee, my Jesus ’tis now.” (From the hymn, “My Jesus, I Love Thee“). Do we love Him with that kind of fervor? Selah! Let’s lavish our love on Him!  Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

Leave a Reply

