What’s A Church to Do?-3

If we have given apologetics training to Christians in our local churches, what is the next part of this process in this second step (see yesterday’s article)? Discipling is an ongoing process. Christians need to be given sound directions for witnessing; they must be experiencing a growing burden for the lost. Those who belong to Him must learn to study and to use good tools to do that. Missionary concern and involvement must become a vital part of their lives. They must be encouraged to read good material and to have a good plan to do so. They must learn to discipline themselves to be actively involved in worship (see recent article: What Happened at Church?). In other words, they are to: “….grow in grace, and in the knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.” (From II Peter 3:18). In the Hymn, A Charge to Keep I Have, Charles Wesley gives voice to our mission, “A charge to keep I have, a God to glorify, a never dying soul to save, and fit it for the sky. To serve the present age, my calling to fulfill; O may it all my powers engage, to do my Master’s will! Arm me with jealous care, as in Thy sight to live, and O thy servant, Lord, prepare, a strict account to give! Help me to watch and pray and on Thyself rely, and let me ne’er my trust betray, but press to realms on high.” Selah! What would happen, if churches majored in things mentioned in these first three articles?  Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

Leave a Reply

