What Makes Peace Work?

Let me begin by mentioning that real, deep, lasting, peace is unavailable to those who do not know Jesus as Savior and Lord. “There is no peace, saith my God, to the wicked” (Isaiah 57:21). What about Christians who fret and stew? Why don’t they have peace? Why isn’t it working for them? They have peace with God and out of that peace, comes the peace of God. However, it’s as if the peace of God sits on a “shelf” somewhere, unused. What activates peace for a child of God? The answer is simple and taken for granted: trust! It’s not enough to know that we need to trust; we must trust! We trust in God’s love, control, wisdom, help, and purposes. If we truly trust, when we can’t understand or it seems wrong or hopeless, then we will have peace. It doesn’t mean that we won’t feel the pressure of negative circumstances; it means that in the midst of those troublesome times that God is in control. We can draw on His strength, comfort and promises. As we do, with full confidence in Him, He will bring calmness, reassurance and peace. Our initial reaction to trials may be fear, sorrow, sadness, anxiety, etc. This is normal. What we do with these “feelings” is the key to peace, or the lack of it, for those who are born again. God inspired Isaiah to remind us that, “Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on Thee: because he trusteth in Thee” (Isaiah 26:3). In the hymn “I’ve Anchored in Jesus,” L.E. Jones gives testimony to the adequacy of this kind of trust, in these words, “Upon life’s boundless ocean where mighty billows roll, I’ve fixed my hope in Jesus, blest Anchor of my soul. When trials fierce assail me, as storms are gath’ring o’er, I rest upon His mercy and trust Him more. I’ve anchored in Jesus; the storms of life I’ll brave. I’ve anchored in Jesus; I fear no wind or wave. I’ve anchored in Jesus, for He hath power to save. I’ve anchored to the Rock of Ages.” Selah! Unconditional trust makes peace work.   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

Leave a Reply

