Understanding “Life”

Great thinkers and ordinary folks have often thought that “life” doesn’t make any sense. For example: we are born, grow, usually marry, raise a family, work, have some pleasure, grow old and die and that’s it! If that is all there is to it, it would be senseless. However, there is one predominant reason for life. Redd Harper, I believe it was, captured the purpose of life in his song. It went like this: “You were born to find God’s love. Life has no other quest! Until your soul has reached its goal, your heart will find no rest.” All of life is incidental to this overarching purpose.” It is in this life, that we can receive or reject God’s loving offer of salvation, forgiveness and cleansing. When we receive that Gift, life makes sense. This short time on earth is given to prepare us for eternity. It can be eternity with God or without Him. Which destiny, is for us to decide. Heaven or Hell hinges on our decision. We can’t understand life without the insight which Scripture gives. The Psalmist prayed, “O how I love thy law! It is my meditation all the day. Thou through Thy commandments hast made me wiser than mine enemies; for they are ever with me. I have more understanding than all my teachers; for Thy testimonies are my meditation” (Psalm 119:97-99). The Psalmist wasn’t talking about knowing more than his teachers in various areas of human knowledge. He exceeded them in understanding life; its purpose and meaning. We can only experience this by what God reveals in the Bible. We would be wise to make Clara H. Scott’s hymn, “Open My Eyes, that I May See,” our earnest prayer. It reads like this, “Open my eyes, that I may see glimpses of Truth Thou hast for me. Place in my hands the wonderful key that shall unclasp and set me free. Silently now I wait for thee, ready my God Thy will to see; Open my eyes, illumine me, Spirit Divine!” Selah! A very wise man was inspired to write, “The fear of the LORD is the beginning of knowledge: but fools despise wisdom and instruction (Proverbs 1:7). Only with the understanding that God gives can life have meaning.   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

One thought on “Understanding “Life”

Leave a Reply

