Purging for Purity

I suspect that many Christians, especially new ones, want instant holiness. If not instant, at least rapid progress toward that state. I’ve heard some say, after years of being saved, that they still struggle with wrong things in their lives. The enemy uses this lack of progress to discourage Christians, suggesting that they just don’t have the ability to live God’s way. They might as well give up trying to be holy. This tells me that some do not understand God’s formula for Spiritual purity. There are reasons why progress is slow and God’s people often experience setbacks. When one has lived at least a few years without being saved, all those years have made possible the filling of minds and hearts with much that is not of God. Those thoughts and values do not vanish all at once. Only as our minds and hearts are filled with the Truths and values of God’s Word, and we respond in trust and obedience to these, can we expect to see the old purged out. Scripture, taken seriously, has a “flushing out” effect on the old ways and values. The Psalmist wrote, in Psalm 119:11, “Thy Word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against Thee.” Paul, in Romans 12:2, admonished the Christians there to, “….be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind.” Prayer, serious meditation on and memorization of Scripture, obedience and application lived out day by day will change our hearts, minds and lives. The more input from God, the more purging out of “garbage.” Peter reminds us that our hearts are purified by faith and Paul explains that, “faith cometh by hearing and hearing by the Word of God.” J. Edwin Orr gave us these words of petition, “I praise thee, Lord, for cleansing me from sin; fulfill Thy Word and make me pure within. Fill me with fire where once I burned with shame; grant my desire to magnify Thy Name. Lord, take my life and make it wholly Thine; fill my poor heart with Thy great love divine. Take all my will, my passion, self and pride; I now surrender, Lord in me abide.” Selah! There is no shortcut to Godly living. Regular and serious absorption of the Word of God will sanctify us and a gradual and wonderful progress will be evident!    Ron 

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

One thought on “Purging for Purity

  1. always love the refining of gold illustration for the “heat” in my life!
    and that the LORD has His finger on the thermometer dial, 24-7, to make sure
    i am being conformed to the image of His Son (romans 8:29)

Leave a Reply

