Calm in Crisis

Circumstances can overwhelm us, unless we have discovered the secret of overcoming. We can, in His strength, overcome all circumstances! Keep in mind, however, that we don’t eliminate the circumstances; they must be overcome! When Paul, in Romans 8:37, wrote under inspiration, “Nay, in all these things we are more than conquerors (we overcome) through Him that loved us,” he had just given a list of many intensely trying circumstances. The three Hebrew young men were cast into an actual furnace. Anyone volunteering for experiencing that? Yet, Peter admonished in I Peter 4:12, “Beloved, think it not strange concerning the fiery trial which is to try you, as though some strange thing happened unto you:” The furnace that we may have to endure may be emotional, physical, mental, spiritual or financial (or a combination of these). We are not exempt from sorrow, pain suffering, etc. We don’t escape the fire but we can be calm in the crises! Warren W. Wiersbe wisely wrote, “When God permits His children to go through the furnace, He keeps His eye on the clock and His hand on the thermostat. His loving heart knows how much and how long.” (I Peter 1:6,7). The secret of overcoming is trusting even while being tried. In his moving hymn, “Jesus Is All I Need” James Rowe reminds us, “When through the valley He calls me to go, Jesus is all I’ll need. He will be with me to cheer, I know. Jesus is all I’ll need. All that I need He will always be, all that I need till His face I see. All that I need thro’ eternity, Jesus is all I need.” Selah! For all who are born again, Jesus is with us in the circumstances. He will guide us through and we can emerge from the fire as pure gold!  Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

Leave a Reply

