The Danger of Dark Paths

On a dark path, one can lose his way. In the darkness, he might get off of the path and face danger. There might be obstacles in the path that would cause him to stumble. On a dark night, he might lose sight of his way. How wonderful on a long trek to have a well lighted path to follow. Life in a sin-darkened world is full of pitfalls. However, for one who is born again, there is a path to walk in that’s well lighted. John, being inspired, wrote on this. In John 8:12, he quoted Jesus, “Then spake Jesus again unto them, saying, I am the light of the world: he that followeth Me shall not walk in darkness, but shall have the light of life.” From where does this light come? The Psalmist answers, “The entrance of Thy Words giveth light; it giveth understanding unto the simple” (Psalm 119:130). It’s this light that enables us to “….walk in the light as He is in the light” and to “….have fellowship one with another” and when we do “….the blood of Jesus Christ His (God’s) Son cleanseth us from all sin.” (From I John 1:7). It’s likely that these Truths prompted John H. Sammis to write, “When we walk with the Lord in the light of His Word, what a glory He sheds on our way! While we do His good will he abides with us still, and with all who will trust and obey.” (From “Trust and Obey”). Know Jesus as Savior and Lord. Study His Word, apply and obey its Truths. More and more light will brighten your path through life. Selah! “It is glory just to walk with Him Whose blood has ransomed me; it is rapture for my soul each day. It is joy to feel Him near where’er my path may be. Bless the Lord, it’s glory all the way! ….He will guide my steps aright, thro’ the vale and o’er the height. it is glory just to walk with Him.” (“It Is Glory Just to Walk with Him” By Avis M. Burgeson).   Ron

Questions? E-Mail me at knowingtheway1@gmail.com 

One thought on “The Danger of Dark Paths

  1. I remember as a small boy looking through my mother’s red letter edition of the Bible and this verse just stood out to me. The paragraph mark in front of it and the red letters really brought attention to it. I recall how it warmed my heart and how thrilled I was to have found it. Although at that point, I didn’t understand all the significance of it – it stayed with me and each time I saw it – or heard it – it warmed my heart again – and it still does today. I am sure thankful for the Light of Life!

Leave a Reply

